Skip To Main Content

Learning Resources

Common Core State Standards

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school.

Since 2010, a number of states across the nation have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the standards to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.

The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards. Click the link above to find information about the standards and the CCSS-related activities taking place in California.

Recommended Reading

California Department of Education's list of recommended literature for specific grade levels.

Accelerated Reader Books

Go to "AR Bookfind" to help find books at your child's reading level, or to look up a book your child is reading to find the book's level, points and AR Quiz number so your child is able to take a test on it at school.